Ask us anything   Project Reclamation is about sharing our inheritance of female courage and creativity with the rest of the art scene. Our stories are not complete without the visibility of the rest of our global sisters. This project is a community challenge to mend the differences between women’s relationship with herself and the rest of
her human family. We defy wanting to be equal…we are simply alive. We break stigmas. We step out of our comfort zones. We acknowledge and learn from our mistakes. We accept one another. We inspire youth and thank those who came before us. This art initiative was created for sharing risks, for rebelling against silence and for seeing art as a responsibility to further understand our mission and
our vision as women…individually, collectively, completely. Let's start a dialogue. Which questions should we start asking each other?

twitter.com/PReclamation:

    From the girls

    Sarah Musa: the response, and enthusiasm from everyone last night was overwhelming, Alhamdulillah. A huge thank you to those who genuinely and wholeheartedly support[ed] Project Reclamation. The showcase was a huge success, and I can honestly say none of us expected it to transform into what it became last night. Thank you to my sisters of light who bore their hearts out, and remained resilient and honest with themselves and with the audience, and a big thank you to Rita Carter and Anastasia Filippova for gracing us with their musical talents, you ladies added an element of completeness to the show. Much love to everyone.


    Sharrae Lyon: It was a pleasure sharing the stage with these wonderful young women. Our truths shone through and we left it something magical in the Chamber. Thanks to all who came to support us. Be prepared.


    Marwa Talal: Last night was a night full of light and magic. I thank those who came to support our inspirational and creative artists. I feel blessed to have such a supportive group of friends and family, and want to let each and everyone of you know that it truly meant so much to me, and my fellow sisters. oh my sisters..my sisters who I am honoured to have crossed paths with, and continue to learn and be inspired from. Anastasia Filippova and Rita you have not only gained a die-hard fan but I hope to continue working with the both of you and seeing you grow. You all ooze with originality and creativity! Let us continue to motivate and encourage each other, let us continue to grow..


    Azenith Barbosa: My words are not enough to honor these beautiful women who’ve made me burst into tears, laughter, poetry, and song all at once. Last night’s event proved that “sisterhood” and “friendship” are not blanket terms as security would rather us hide our love for one another. Make no mistake, walls are easier to kick down, we are fiercer together. Once you have seen light as a shared experience, you are never the same. I thank every single person in the audience; trust, you spoke to us very deeply. Your attention made this night happen. For the men who listened without judgment, thank you for being real. My most memorable backstage moment occured before Rita Carter got on stage…woah, was she actually nervous? What would someone as beautiful, strong and talented have to fear? And it hit me. We pray to give our best. I thank Sarah, Sharrae, Khadija, Asha, Ama, Jesslyn, Frah, Afuwa, Marwa and Salma for choosing me as a friend. I am still humming Jesslyn’s anthem and I dreamt in piano last night thanks to Anastascia’s magic. I can’t get your dazzling smiles out of my head. I never will. That’s worth everything. It’s a wrap: Project Reclamation Presents: Light


    Asha Kayd: Amazing night, so humbled for all of those who came out and supported the first ever Project Reclamation showcase. We shared stories, had laughs, enjoyed food, and listened to amazing music. Loved it. Mad blessed.


    Jesslyn Colley: I love you Project Reclamation Sisters tonight was a huge success, and I am so blessed to have shared the stage with all of you. Also thanks to my girl Tracy you are the best. And thanks to the lovely supports love you all. I love you sisters continue to inspire the lives of all :)

    Anastascia Filippova: Spectacular night. You ladies inspired me tonight, you moved me, made me laugh. To wrap up: Thank God for amnesia. :)

    Rita Carter:  What a night that was. In case you couldn’t tell, I HAD SOOOOO MUCH FUN PERFORMING! Thank you to all the people who came out to support PROJECT RECLAMATION last night. And to the ladies… You beautifully passionate sisters…THANK YOU! I was honoured to be in your presence and share that stage with you. You put together an amazing show, organized perfectly from head to toe, and I’m so proud I was able to be a part of it. Love and talent was everywhere and God was watching us all… LOVE.

    — 2 years ago with 2 notes

    Project Reclamation - slideshow dvd

    "Project Reclamation Present: Light" - February 18, 2012

    Photographs by Ben Powless. Truly godsent. Check him out: http://www.flickr.com/photos/powless/

    Reviews:

    Event was amazing, haven’t seen anything like it. such talented young women keep up the great work, may God help you all with your efforts.

    Simply amazing show! Can’t wait for y’all’s next event. I will definitely be there.

    Project Reclamation Light was simply. Beautiful. Thank you.

    That was absolutely gorgeous! Such an emotional, beautiful, moving, touching night. Thanks for a great show, excellent job!

    Amazing show. So much talent. Thank you to everyone involved. Well worth the trip from Montreal! Looking forward to many more.

    What did you think of the show? We want to hear your feedback.

    Vids coming soon

    — 2 years ago with 1 note
    be a warrior of light

    10 days before our first show! Time flies.

    I used to watch poets perform on stage feeling like my heart would burst. Back then, I was ashamed of my voice. If I’d only understood the bravery it took to listen to somebody’s story… As listeners, we can no longer ignore our ultimate joy, our loving and our limits, our purpose and our meaning. We can no longer ignore the depths of who we are.   

    It is with difficulty that we understand art. That should make us feel special. It is often difficult to believe in love. When was the last time you believed in yourself? Ultimately, that is what we are inviting you to do. 

    The set list is complete. I’d like to thank these women simply for being themselves. I couldn’t have imagined a greater love than theirs. Special thanks to Allan Andre for filming our trailer, and Rebecca Diedre Jones for shooting our promo. Thank you for the lovely people at Artful framing for agreeing to lend us their lovely decor. Thanks to Damas Restaurant and Khoolun Restaurant for their generous contributions! 

    We appreciate everyone who has contacted us about joining Project Reclamation. Our hearts are exploding with love for you! Please continue to grace us with your patience as we create more opportunities for all the women who live in this community. To all of our friends and family, who have been there for us through and through, thank you, thank you, thank you. 

    Tickets are sold for only $10 at The Tea Store (53 York Street in the Ottawa Byward Market downtown). To Carleton students, tickets are available at OPIRG at 326 Unicentre for your convienience. You may also request a ticket by visiting us at  https://www.facebook.com/projectreclamation.  Doors open at 6:30 pm, show starts at 7:13pm. This event is held at The Chamber, at 101 Centrepointe Drive Ben Franklin Theatre. 

    Tune into CBC Radio 91.5 Fm on Saturday, February 18th between 7:30-9:00 am with host Michael Bhardrwaj. Sarah talks about how she started Project Reclamation with a deep-rooted confidence in what young women can contribute as artists, critical thinkers and activists. This interview is available at http://www.cbc.ca/intownandout/2012/02/18/project-reclamation/. Thank you for supporting our first showcase!

    Please continue to share your light with the world. 

    Love, 

    Azenith

    — 2 years ago with 1 note

    asthmaticreflections:

    Project Reclamation Presents: Light!

    I say, 
    It’s in the reach of my arms 
    The span of my hips, 
    The stride of my step, 
    The curl of my lips. 
    I’m a woman 
    Phenomenally. 
    Phenomenal woman, 
    That’s me.

    I walk into a room 
    Just as cool as you please, 
    And to a man, 
    The fellows stand or 
    Fall down on their knees. 
    Then they swarm around me, 
    A hive of honey bees. 
    I say, 
    It’s the fire in my eyes 
    And the flash of my teeth, 
    The swing of my waist, 
    And the joy in my feet. 
    I’m a woman 
    Phenomenally. 
    Phenomenal woman, 
    That’s me.

    Men themselves have wondered 
    What they see in me. 
    They try so much 
    But they can’t touch 
    My inner mystery. 
    When I try to show them, 
    They say they still can’t see. 
    I say 
    It’s in the arch of my back, 
    The sun of my smile, 
    The ride of my breasts, 
    The grace of my style. 
    I’m a woman 
    Phenomenally. 
    Phenomenal woman, 
    That’s me.

    Now you understand 
    Just why my head’s not bowed. 
    I don’t shout or jump about 
    Or have to talk real loud. 
    When you see me passing 
    It ought to make you proud. 
    I say, 
    It’s in the click of my heels, 
    The bend of my hair, 
    The palm of my hand, 
    The need of my care, 
    'Cause I'm a woman 
    Phenomenally. 
    Phenomenal woman, 
    That’s me.

    -Maya Angelou

    (via statichijabi-deactivated2013092)

    — 2 years ago with 3 notes
    The Mission: Project Reclamation


    Project Reclamation is about sharing our inheritance of female courage and creativity with the rest of the art scene. We exist to combine our humanity to bring honour to women’s creative herstories and futures. We are constructing an intellectual and social space that builds upon the visionary energy of the inner and outer woman. Project Reclamation is an open environment where we speak our personal truths, inspire revolutions and support peace in each other’s experiences. We promise not only to speak what is in our hearts, but to let our creativity carry us in the direction of positive action. Our diverse art forms include poetry, theatre, photography, film, design, journalism, speechwriting and more.

    Our stories are not complete without the visibility of the rest of our global sisters. This project is a community challenge to mend the differences between women’s relationship with herself and the rest of her human family, men and women both. We defy wanting to be equal…we are simply alive. We break stigmas. We step out of our comfort zones. We acknowledge and learn from our mistakes. We accept one another. We inspire youth and thank those who came before us. This art initiative was created for sharing risks, for rebelling against silence and for seeing art as a responsibility to further understand our mission and our vision as women…individually, collectively, completely.

    Peace and blessings!

    — 2 years ago with 2 notes
    Meet Frah

    A lover of mankind, Frah is a young, enthusiastic and ambitious sister who is always seeking the opportunity to help educate her fellow brothers and sisters find empowerment within themselves. For over 4 years, she has been affiliated with organizations that mirror her interests. She is a creative being who enjoys painting and writing. Anything involving freedom of expression is golden to her. With a group of like-minded women, she joined Project Reclamation in hopes  to strengthen the bonds of sisterhood within her community and ultimately beyond.

    Featured Work:


     Lost Koi/Koi`s oasis/Chaotic Kois

    Looking for home when chaos surrounds them. They will eventually be guided by the eternal light and find inner peace and calm.


    — 2 years ago with 1 note
    Meet Afuwa Renner

    Afuwa Renner is a true fanatic of music, fashion, and any other creative outlet. Everyday, she’s on a quest to pursue what she loves, which includes feeding her intellect, experimenting with different elements of her artistic talents and crafting chefs-d’oeuvre. For Afuwa, Project Reclamation conveys many creative art forms and she believes they will eventually inspire trends and influence others to evolve as friends & spectators capture the cleverness from each individual.

    Read more
    — 2 years ago with 1 note
    Meet Marwa Talal

    Marwa Talal is a Sudanese Born Canadian currently studying for a degree of Interior Design. Her Artwork expands over a large variety of mediums’, such as acrylic, graphite, water-colour, multimedia, photography and more. Her work usually consist of a narrative with a deeper concept and showing that in a visual medium. Besides Artwork Marwa is involved in the community as a part time student at a recreation centre and volunteer with Youth Advocacy and Youth Councils within Ottawa.

    link to blog: http://marwatalal.tumblr.com/

    Read more
    — 2 years ago with 1 note
    Meet Jesslyn Colley

    Jesslyn Colley was born in Nova Scotia. She is a singer/ poet. She aspires to become a screenwriter and novelist. Jesslyn is a woman full of life and love with an everlasting angelic smile. She is currently studying at Carleton University. After her studies, Jesslyn plans to travel across Africa and South America. Jesslyn’s love for working with youth in the Ottawa community has led to her passion to work with Black youth in Nova Scotia. Project Reclamation for Jesslyn is a support system of dynamic women that share a love for art. Jesslyn joined Project Reclaimation because she wants to be a part of a movement that changed the lives of youth women and inspires them to act and be courageous and proud of what they have to offer the world.

    Read more
    — 2 years ago with 1 note